After viewing the Sunbeam and Variations, you can see how film editing technology has come so far as to break the scenes up into separate frames recently. However, like Thompson says in her blog, Griffith was able to edit so well, that the film rarely sees choppiness when cutting from one scene to the next. His precision in filming The Sunbeam is very impressive to me. However, I think I liked the Variations version better. Let me rephrase that, not better but I thought it did a better job at portraying the story by separating each scene into separate frames and running them in real time. I thought that by doing this, Aitor really showed how these two adults were living in complete isolation. Each shot outside their door shows groups of people who were playing and having fun. The isolation you see them living in makes you feel sorry for them and shows them not as villainous, but sad, which causes the viewer to feel a sort of empathy toward them. I really enjoyed the Variations version of  The Sunbeam. It made you feel you were living in the apartment building by the way they made everything separated into rooms/frames. The story of the Sunbeam itself is also one that would tug on the heart strings of any person. A child’s innocence can make anyone smile and melt even the coldest hearts.